University of Oxford Homepage

Note. An asterisk against an entry in the Contents indicates a previously published notice.
University of Oxford Crest

Oxford University Gazette, 2 March 2006: Notices


Appointment of Pro-Vice-Chancellors with Special Responsibility for Designated Functions

Set out below are the principles for the appointment of Pro-Vice-Chancellors with special responsibility for designated functions, as agreed by Council on 13 February 2006.

'Following are the principles which shall be used in the appointment of Pro-Vice-Chancellors with special responsibility for designated functions. These are designed to recognise that the Pro-Vice-Chancellors are acting as an extension of the Vice-Chancellor who is not able to carry out every function needed to be undertaken at vice-cancellarial level; that being the case it is essential that the Vice-Chancellor has full confidence in each appointee.

1. Whenever there is an impending vacancy in one or more of these posts, the Vice-Chancellor shall consider whether any changes in the designated functions carried out by all or any of the Pro-Vice-Chancellors might be appropriate and put to Council for its approval any proposals for change. Where no changes are proposed an outline of the duties and responsibilities of the post to be filled will be submitted to Council for information. The proposed period of the appointment shall be included in the documentation submitted to Council.

2. All vacancies in these posts shall be advertised internally (with full further particulars which include relevant selection criteria). A decision on whether a post should also be advertised externally shall be taken by Council on the occasion of each vacancy, on the recommendation of the Vice-Chancellor who shall take account of all relevant factors and prevailing circumstances in making the recommendation.

3. A selection committee shall be established by Council on the occasion of each vacancy on the basis of proposals put forward by the Vice-Chancellor who will, before formulating such proposals, invite written suggestions from each member of Council. The committee, which shall be chaired by the Vice-Chancellor, shall include members who have particular knowledge of, and experience in, the area(s) of the post to be filled. In all cases care will be taken to ensure an appropriate gender and disciplinary balance in the membership of the committee.

4. The selection committee shall at all times have regard to diversity issues, to the general University guidance on recruitment and selection to University posts, and to relevant particular University policies and practices relating to senior appointments.

5. The selection committee shall arrive at its decision for submission to Council by majority vote, the Vice-Chancellor as chair having a casting vote as is the normal convention. Given the nature of the post, the Vice-Chancellor shall also have the power of veto so that the name of the candidate recommended to Council for approval must in every case have the full support of the Vice-Chancellor.

6. In addition to submitting the name of the recommended candidate to Council, the selection committee shall provide a report which shall summarise the procedures followed, provide statistical information on the number of applicants, the numbers of other names considered, and the numbers interviewed, and which shall include any particular comments on the process that it considers would be helpful to Council.

7. Council shall take its decision on appointment on the basis of the information provided by the selection committee. Council shall also confirm the period of appointment.

8. Each of the Pro-Vice-Chancellors with special responsibility for designated functions shall be asked to make an annual report to Council.'

^ Return to Contents of this section

Department of Physiology, Anatomy, and Genetics

Following Council's adoption last term of the recommendation of the Medical Sciences Board, the Department of Human Anatomy and Genetics and the University Laboratory of Physiology have joined together to create the Department of Physiology, Anatomy, and Genetics. Professor Sir George Radda, FRS, has become the new department's first head. Professor Kay Davies, FRS, and Professor David Paterson have been appointed as Associate Heads.

The department's postal addresses are: Le Gros Clark Building, South Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3QX; and Sherrington Building, Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3PT.

^ Return to Contents of this section

University Gazette: Publication Arrangements

The final Gazettes of this term will be published on 9, 16, and 23 March. Publication for Trinity Term will start on 20 April.

Because of difficulties caused by the date of Easter, all notices for the 20 April Gazette must be received by midday on Thursday, 6 April.

Notices for the Gazette should be supplied to the Gazette Office, University Offices, Wellington Square (e-mail:

^ Return to Contents of this section


Donald Schultz Professorship of Turbomachinery

PHILLIP LIGRANI (BS Texas, MS, PH.D. Stanford), Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Utah, has been appointed to the professorship with effect from 1 June 2006.

Professor Ligrani will be a fellow of St Catherine's College.

^ Return to Contents of this section


The composition of the electoral boards to the posts below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows.

Dr Lee's Professorship of Experimental Philosophy

                              Appointed by

Mr Vice-Chancellor            ex officio
The Warden of Wadham          ex officio
Professor N.F. Johnson        Council
Professor G. Gehring          Council
Dr A.T. Boothroyd             Mathematial and Physical Sciences Board
Professor S.J. Blundell       Mathematial and Physical Sciences Board
Professor R. Davies           Mathematial and Physical Sciences Board
Professor L. Eaves            Mathematial and Physical Sciences Board
Professor G.G. Ross           Wadham College

^ Return to Contents of this section

Professorship of the Philosophy of Law

                                               Appointed by

The Provost of Queen's                         Mr Vice-Chancellor [1] 
The Master of Balliol                          ex officio 
Professor J. Gardner                           Council
Professor A. Duff                              Council 
Professor J. Finnis                            Social Sciences Board 
Professor E. McKendrick                        Law Board 
Dr J. Dickson                                  Law Board 
Professor S. Perry                             Law Board 
Dr K. Hoekstra                                 Balliol College
[1] Appointed by Mr Vice-Chancellor under the provisions of Sects. 10 and 11 of Statute IX (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4633, 9 October 2002, Vol. 133, p. 108).

^ Return to Contents of this section