University of
Oxford Homepage

Note. An asterisk against an entry in the Contents indicates a previously published notice.
University of Oxford Crest

Oxford University Gazette, 24 June 2005: University Acts



On Thursday, 16 June, the following were duly elected to hold office from the first day of Michaelmas Term 2005 for the periods stated:


Member of Congregation, from members of the faculties in the Life and Environmental Sciences, Mathematical and Physical Sciences, and Medical Sciences Divisions

For three years

PROFESSOR S.C. COOPER, MA (PH.D. California), Fellow of St Catherine's

[The votes recorded were: for Professor Bell, 261; for Professor Cooper, 407 ]

Nominating Committee for the Vice-Chancellorship

For five years

1. SIR ALAN BUDD, MA, D.PHIL., Provost of Queen's College

2. PROFESSOR K.E. DAVIES, MA, D.PHIL., Fellow of Hertford

[The votes recorded were: for Sir Alan Budd, 439; for Professor Clary, 352; for Professor Davies, 354 ]

Return to Contents of this section


1 Honorary Degrees

The following degrees, honoris causa, approved by Resolution of Congregation, were conferred:

Doctor of Civil Law

SIR WILLIAM CASTELL, KT, LVO, FCA, Visiting Fellow of Green College, Vice-Chairman of the General Electric Company and President and CEO of GE Healthcare

DR OLIVER SACKS, BM, B.CH., Honorary Fellow of Queen's College, Writer and Clinical Professor of Neurology, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York

Doctor of Letters

DAME GILLIAN BEER, DBE, B.LITT., MA (LITT.D. Cambridge), FBA, Honorary Fellow of St Anne's College, King Edward VII Professor of English Literature Emerita, Former President of Clare Hall, Cambridge

MS TONI MORRISON (BA Howard, MA Cornell), Honorary Fellow of St Hilda's College, Robert F. Goheen Professor in the Humanities, Princeton University, Writer


Doctor of Science

SIR ANTHONY J. LEGGETT, KBE, MA, D.PHIL., FRS, Honorary Fellow of Balliol College and of Merton College, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Chair and Center for Advanced Study Professor of Physics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

CHRISTIANE NÜSSLEIN-VOLHARD (PH.D. Tübingen), FRS, Director of Department of Genetics, Max Planck Institute for Development Biology

SIR MICHAEL RUTTER, KT, CBE (MD Birmingham), FRCP, F.R.C.PSYCH., F.MED.SCI., FRS, Professor of Developmental Psychopathology, King's College London, Institute of Psychiatry

2 Encaenia

THE PUBLIC ORATOR delivered an introduction, after which THE PROFESSOR OF POETRY delivered the Oration 'in Commemoration of the Benefactors of the University according to the intention of the Right Honourable Nathaniel, Lord Crewe, Bishop of Durham'.

¶ The texts of the speeches made by the Public Orator in presenting the recipients of Honorary Degrees, and of the Creweian Oration, are published as Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4739.

Return to Contents of this section


Register of Congregation

Mr Vice-Chancellor reports that the following names have been added to the Register of Congregation:

Bregu, M., D.Phil., Wolfson

Cherny, S.S., Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics

Craddock, K.M., Computing Services

Dreger, M., University Laboratory of Physiology

Fanous, S.B., D.Phil., Pembroke

Gauntlett, S., Kellogg

Gayan, J., Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics

Holt, K.P., Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics

Mackay, D.M., Cairns Library

Mir, K.U., D.Phil., Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics

Murray, A.J., M.Biochem., D.Phil., Oriel

Schneider, J.E., Department of Cardiovascular Medicine

Return to Contents of this section


For changes in regulations for examinations, to come into effect on 8 July, see 'Examinations and Boards' below.

Return to Contents of this section