University of
Oxford Homepage

Note. An asterisk against an entry in the Contents indicates a previously published notice.
University of Oxford Crest

Oxford University Gazette, 9 June 2005: Notices


Review of the Medical School

On behalf of the Educational Policy and Standards Committee of Council, the Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academic) will chair a committee to review the Medical School. The committee's terms of reference are:

(a) To review the educational policy and quality of learning and teaching in the Medical School by reference to international standards of excellence, taking into account, in the context of the University's mission statement and corporate plan, all factors relevant to the Medical School's practice and achievement in respect of: access and admissions; curriculum design and course structure; teaching, learning, and assessment and, in particular, the relationship between teaching and research; academic and pastoral support and guidance; the provision and use of learning resources (including staff resources); specific arrangements for the pursuit of graduate studies (including research degrees and research training) and part-time study; and relationships with colleges;

(b) to report and make recommendations to the Educational Policy and Standards Committee (EPSC) and the Planning and Resource Allocation Committee (PRAC) for consideration in consultation with the divisional board.

The report, or relevant sections of it, will be sent to the Academic Committee of the Conference of Colleges for information as well as to EPSC/PRAC.

The membership of the Review Committee is:

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academic)—(Dr W.D. Macmillan) (Chairman)

Professor Arthur Garson, University of Virginia

Professor Stewart Petersen, University of Leicester

Professor Mary Ritter, Imperial College, London

Professor Tony Weetman, University of Sheffield

The review committee would welcome written comments on matters falling within its terms of reference. These should be sent to the joint secretary to the review committee, Mr R.O. Hughes, University Offices, Wellington Square, by Wednesday, 22 June.

Return to Contents of this section


Wolfson College

KATHRYN WHITNEY, mezzo-soprano, and LINDY TENNENT-BROWN, piano, will give a concert at 8 p.m. on Saturday, 18 June, in the Holywell Music Room. This is a farewell concert, marking the end of Ms Whitney's tenure as Creative Arts Fellow in Music at Wolfson. The concert will feature the first public performance of Héloïse to Abelard by John McCabe.

This notice replaces the notice published in the Gazette of 26 May, p. 1072, which gave incorrect information on date and venue.

Tickets may be obtained from Tickets Oxford at the Oxford Playhouse (telephone: Oxford 305305, Web: Further information may be found at

Return to Contents of this section


The composition of the electoral board to the post below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows.

Professorship of the History of Science

                                        Appointed by

The Provost of 
    Worcester                           Mr Vice-Chancellor [1]
The Principal of Linacre                ex officio
Professor J. Browne                     Council
Professor I.W.F. Maclean                Council
Dr R.C.S. Walker                        Humanities Board
Professor J.L. Heilbron                 Modern History Board
Dr J. Robertson                         Modern History Board
Professor L.W.B. Brockliss              Modern History Board
Dr J. Bennett                           Linacre College

[1] Appointed by Mr Vice-Chancellor under the provisions of Sects. 10 and 11 of Statute IX (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4633, 9 October 2002, Vol. 133, p. 108).

Return to Contents of this section