Prizes, Grants, and Funding

Contents of this section:

[Note. An asterisk denotes a reference to a previously published or recurrent entry.]

Return to Contents Page of this issue


Extension of deadlines for applications

The prize will be offered for a dissertation on a subject to be chosen by the writer and approved by the Board of the Faculty of Philosophy within the field of ancient philosophy and ideas. The value of the prize will be £1,000.

Applications for permission to offer an intended subject should be sent to the Secretary to the Board of the Faculty of Philosophy, 10 Merton Street, Oxford OX1 4JJ, as early as possible but in any case by Friday, 5 March. In case of doubt the board will determine whether a subject falls within the above field.

The dissertations must reach the Secretary to the Board on or before Friday, 16 April. They may be written either in English or Latin, at the option of the writer. Three typed copies must be submitted.

The prize is open to all members of the University who, on the day appointed for sending in the dissertations, are (i) qualified by examination for a degree of the University, (ii) have completed six years, and have not exceeded fifteen years, from their matriculation, except that graduates whose first degrees are from other universities shall have completed two years, and not exceeded eleven years, from their matriculation, and (iii) are of postdoctoral status, or equivalent. The prize may not be awarded twice to the same person, but a previously unsuccessful competitor may resubmit his or her dissertation, or an amended version of it, on not more than two occasions.

The judges may determine not to award the prize in any year if no dissertation of sufficient merit is submitted.

The prize is offered annually in three fields in rotation. The cycle will continue as follows:

2005 classical literature, textual criticism, and philology

2006 ancient history, religion, art, and archaeology.

2007 ancient philosophy and ideas

Return to List of Contents of this section


Dawkins Prize

The Dawkins Prize was endowed by a generous donation from the family of Professor Richard Dawkins, FRS, the University's Charles Simonyi Professor of the Public Understanding of Science. The Prize is for outstanding research into the ecology and behaviour of animals whose welfare and survival may be endangered by human activities.

The first prize-winner (2001) was Dr Iain Douglas-Hamilton.

The college now seeks nominations for the second Dawkins Prize.

The prize-winner will receive £2,000 and will be expected to give one public lecture in Oxford. The college also hopes that a Dawkins Prize Scholar will be chosen by the prize-winner, to enable a student to gain research experience by working with him or her. £2,000 will be available to the prize-winner for the scholarship and research expenses. In addition, the travel expenses of the prize-winner and scholar will be met, up to a total of £2,000.

Nominations should contain names, addresses, and affiliations of nominator and nominee and a brief list of the key achievements and publications of the nominee. Nominations should be sent to the Vice-Master, Convener of the Dawkins Prize Committee, Balliol College, Oxford OX1 3BJ, by 1 April.

Return to List of Contents of this section