University Acts

Contents of this section:

[Note. An asterisk denotes a reference to a previously published or recurrent entry.]

Return to Contents Page of this issue


Changes in Regulations

Council has made the following changes in regulations, to come into effect on 7 May 2004.

Value for Money Committee

In Council Regulations 15 of 2002 (Supplement (2) to Gazette No. 4628, 26 June 2002), delete regulation 3.116 and substitute:

`3.116 The committee shall be responsible for:

(1) developing policies to support the pursuit of Value for Money (VFM) throughout the University, whether achieved through greater economy (minimising the cost of an activity), greater efficiency (the relationship between the output of goods and services and the resources used to produce them) or greater effectiveness (the extent to which objectives are met);

(2) seeking to integrate the pursuit of VFM within planning and decision making processes and to raise awareness that responsibility for VFM rests with all staff, and not just those with financial duties;

(3) monitoring the implementation of measures to achieve VFM and keeping an overview of detailed work by officers on VFM initiatives;

(4) undertaking or commissioning VFM studies into areas of activity identified as worthy of review;

(5) making recommendations for the dissemination of good practice, where appropriate; and

(6) liaising with the Audit Committee, the remit of which includes advising Council on whether satisfactory arrangements are in place to promote VFM within the University.'

[These changes in regulation, made on the recommendation of Council's General Purposes Committee with the agreement of the Audit Committee, elaborate the responsibilities of the Value for Money Committee and how its aims are to be realised, in reflection of the importance which the University attaches to the effective use of resources.]

Return to List of Contents of this section


Register of Congregation

Mr Vice-Chancellor reports that the following names have been added to the Register of Congregation:

Adams, M.M., Christ Church

Bailey, D.T.J., Corpus Christi

Bird, R.E., Magdalen

Boden, R.J., MA, Keble

Chaisty, P.E., Pembroke

Copley, R.R., St Catherine's

Dechow, N, Keble

Earle, B.N., St John's

Feller, S.-M., Faculty of Clinical Medicine

Ferguson, D.E.J., New College

Geddes, J.R., Faculty of Clinical Medicine

George, B.D., Faculty of Clinical Medicine

Gibbs, G.P., Institute for the Advancement of University Learning

Gibson, B.V., University Club

Harley, C.K., St Antony's

Lang, B., St Hugh's

Lei, M., D.Phil., St Catherine's

Maynard, N.D., BA, Exeter

McNab, I.S.H., Faculty of Clinical Medicine

Mulholland, M.E., St Catherine's

O'Neill, M.A., Faculty of Law

Quested, D.J., Faculty of Clinical Medicine

Ragge, N.K., BM, B.Ch., New College

Schuster, L.K., Faculty of Anthropology and Geography

Stavrakopoulou, F., M.St., D.Phil., Pembroke

Steczowicz, A.H., Magdalen

Stewart, A., Faculty of Clinical Medicine

Tahiri-Alaoui, A., Faculty of Physiological Sciences

Wade-Martins, R., D.Phil., Linacre

Warner, O.J., Faculty of Clinical Medicine

Wietholtz, A., St John's

Return to List of Contents of this section


For changes in regulations for examinations, to come into effect on 7 May 2004, see Supplement (3) to Gazette No. 4692.

Return to List of Contents of this section