Contents of this section:

[Note. An asterisk denotes a reference to a previously published or recurrent entry.]

Return to Contents Page of this issue


University Gazette

Publication arrangements

The final Gazettes of the present term will be published on 11, 18, and 25 March. Publication for Trinity Term will begin on 22 April. The usual deadlines will apply (midday on Thursday of the week before publication for all official notices; midday on Wednesday of the week before publication for classified advertisements).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Technology Transfer

Ewert House, Ewert Place, Summertown, Oxford OX2 7SG

Isis Innovation Ltd is the technology transfer company of the University of Oxford, commercialising the research generated within and owned by the University. Established in 1988, Isis is a wholly-owned subsidiary of the University, founded to evaluate, protect, and market the University's intellectual property (where there are no pre-existing exploitation arrangements). In 2002, Oxford University Consulting became part of Isis, matching business consulting needs with University researchers. Isis provides researchers with commercial advice, funds patent applications and legal costs, negotiates exploitation and spin-out company agreements, and identifies and manages consultancy opportunities for University researchers. Isis works on projects from all areas of the University's research activities including the life sciences, physical sciences, humanities, and social sciences. Isis welcomes contact from any researcher interested in technology transfer and consultancy opportunities. Visit to learn more about Isis' activities, including its portfolio of technologies and spin-out companies, and to see the `Information for Oxford Researchers' resource.

For more information contact one of Isis' Group Heads: Linda Naylor, Life Sciences (telephone: (2)80910, e-mail:; David Baghurst, Physical Sciences (telephone: (2)80858, e-mail:; or Mark Taylor, Business Innovation and Consulting (telephone: (2)80824, e-mail:

Return to List of Contents of this section


Intensive German classes for archaeologists

A week of intensive German classes for archaeologists, for beginners and intermediate learners, will be held in the Institute of Archaeology in ninth week of Hilary Term (15–19 March). Enquiries should be directed to the Receptionist, the Institute of Archaeology (telephone: (2)78240, e-mail:, from whom registration forms may also be obtained. The course tutor will be Gertrud Seidmann, Research Associate, the Institute of Archaeology.

Return to List of Contents of this section


The value of £100 of the John Morris Prize will now be associated with the presentation by Sweet and Maxwell of £150 of law books, but not a copy of the current edition of Dicey and Morris on The Conflict of Laws.

Return to List of Contents of this section



KEITH MALCOLM WILLETT, MA STATUS (MB, BS London), Consultant Orthopaedic Trauma Surgeon, Oxford Radcliffe Hospital Trust, and Honorary Senior Lecturer in Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery, has been appointed to the professorship with effect from 1 June 2004.

Mr Willett will be a fellow of Wolfson College.

Return to List of Contents of this section



The Mathematical and Physical Sciences Board has conferred the title of Schlumberger Visiting Professor in Mathematics upon PROFESSOR L. MAHADEVAN, Professor of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics, Harvard University, for a period of three years from 1 February 2004.

Note: this replaces the notice of conferment of title upon Professor Mahadevan published in the Gazette of 19 February, p. 627, in which the title of the Visiting Professorship was given incorrectly.

Return to List of Contents of this section


The composition of the electoral board to the post below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows.


                                               Appointed by 

The Master of St Catherine's                           Mr Vice-Chancellor [1]
The Principal of St Hugh's                             ex officio
Professor C. Jaupart                                   Council
Professor K.K. Turekian                                Council
Professor D.C. Clary                                   Mathematical and Physical Sciences Board
Professor P.C. England                                 Mathematical and Physical Sciences Board
Dr G.H. Henderson                                      Mathematical and Physical Sciences Board
Professor H. Elderfield                                Mathematical and Physical Sciences Board
Professor J. Green                                     St Hugh's College
[1] Appointed by Mr Vice-Chancellor under the provisions of Sects. 10 and 11 of Stat. IX (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4633, 9 October 2002, Vol. 133, p. 108).

Return to List of Contents of this section