Colleges, Halls, and Societies

Contents of this section:

Return to Contents Page of this issue


Christ Church

DAVID SOMERVILLE, CB, 19 November 2002; commoner 1939; Under-Secretary, Department of Health and Social Security, 1968–77. Aged 85.

Return to List of Contents of this section


All Souls College and Jesus College

A Memorial Service for SIR HROTHGAR JOHN HABAKKUK (1915--2002), Vice-Chancellor 1973--7, Principal of Jesus College 1967--84 and Honorary Fellow 1984-- 2002, Chichele Professor of Economic History and Fellow of All Souls College 1950--67, and Distinguished Fellow 1988--2001, Honorary Fellow 2001--2, will be held at 2.30 p.m. on Saturday, 8 February, in the University Church of St Mary the Virgin. After the service, tea will be served in Jesus College.

Return to List of Contents of this section


St Peter's College

Leonard Theberge Essay Prize

`The Age of Johnson'

St Peter's College offers an annual prize of US$500, which has been endowed in honour of the late Mr Leonard J. Theberge of Washington, DC, an old member of the college, by his friends and family.

The prize is open to all undergraduate members of Oxford University and to graduate members within their first two years from graduation, or within their first two years of full-time graduate study at the University of Oxford. It will be awarded for the best essay submitted on a topic connected with `The Age of Samuel Johnson': this includes any aspect of British civilisation in the eighteenth century: artistic, cultural, economic, intellectual, literary, musical, philosophical, political, religious, scientific, etc. Essays must be typed with footnotes at the bottom of the page; they must not exceed 10,000 words in length including references and bibliography.

Entries should be submitted anonymously, but accompanied by a sealed envelope containing the author's identity and a certificate of the candidate's undergraduate or graduate status from his or her society.

Entries must reach the College Secretary, St Peter's College, clearly marked `Theberge Prize', by Friday, 28 February. The judges, who are appointed by the college, reserve the right to make no award or a lesser one if no entry of sufficient merit is submitted.

Return to List of Contents of this section