University Agenda

Contents of this section:

[Note. An asterisk denotes a reference to a previously published or recurrent entry.]

Return to Contents Page of this issue


Degree by Special Resolution

The following special resolution will be deemed to be approved at noon on 6 December, unless by that time the Registrar has received notice in writing from two or more members of Congregation under the provisions of Tit. II, Sect. vi, cl. 6 (Statutes, 1997, p. 15) that they wish the resolution to be put to a meeting of Congregation.

Text of Special Resolution

That the Degree of Master of Arts be conferred upon the following:

ZHONG YOU, Magdalen College

Return to List of Contents of this section



The meeting of Congregation is cancelled. The sole business comprises questions to which no opposition has been notified and in respect of which no request for an adjournment has been received, and Mr Vice- Chancellor will accordingly declare the statute approved and the preambles adopted without a meeting under the provisions of Tit. II, Sect. iii, cl. 11 (Statutes, 1997, p. 8).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Elections: Council of the University

Vacancies Period from MT 2000
One 4 years
One 3 years
One (from among members of the faculties in the Divisions of Life and Environmental Sciences, Mathematical and Physical Sciences, and Medical Sciences) 1 year
One 4 years
One 3 years
One 2 years
One (from members of the faculties in the Divisions of Humanities and Social Sciences) 1 year
One 4 years
One 2 years
One (from members of Congregation, not necessarily being members of any division and not in any case being nominated in a divisional capacity) 1 year

¶ Nominations in writing by two members of Congregation other than the candidate will be received by the Head Clerk at the University Offices, Wellington Square, up to 4 p.m. on Monday, 24 January, and similar nominations by six members of Congregation other than the candidate up to 4 p.m. on Monday, 31 January.

Council has decided that nominations should show for each signatory the name and college or department in block capitals. Any names which are not so shown may not be published. At least one nomination in respect of each candidate must be made on an official nomination form. Copies of the form are obtainable from the Head Clerk (telephone: (2)70190; e-mail:

In the event of a contested election, a brief biographical note on each candidate will be published in the Gazette dated 10 February, and voters may wish to wait until they have read these notes before returning their ballot papers (which will be sent out to members of Congregation as soon as possible after the closing date for nominations, and which, after completion, must be received by the Head Clerk not later than 4 p.m. on 17 February).


1. The new Council of the University (`Council') will, subject to the approval of Her Majesty in the Privy Council, come into being on 1 October 2000. With effect from the same date, the present Hebdomadal Council and General Board will be abolished, and there will be under Council four major statutory committees (Planning and Resource Allocation, Educational Policy and Standards, General Purposes, and Personnel) and five Divisional Boards (Life and Environmental Sciences, Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Medical Sciences, Humanities, and Social Sciences). Council will replace the Hebdomadal Council as the University's chief executive body. It will take over the Hebdomadal Council's statutory responsibility for the administration of the University (both academic and other) and for the management of its finances and property, as well as dealing with the relationship between the University and all external bodies. It will submit resolutions and statutes to Congregation for approval, and will have the power to make decrees (which may be opposed in Congregation). It is expected to concentrate on strategic matters and to delegate most of the other business currently conducted by the Hebdomadal Council and the General Board to the major statutory committees and the Divisional Boards.

2. Council will comprise the Vice-Chancellor, the Chairman of the Conference of Colleges, the Proctors, the Assessor, and the five heads of division, all ex officio, a person elected by the Conference, two external persons nominated by Council subject to the approval of Congregation, and the ten members elected by Congregation as listed above. It will have power to co-opt up to three additional members from among the members of Congregation. Subject to review in the light of experience, it will meet four times each term, on the afternoon of the Monday of Weeks 1, 4, 7, and 9, and twice during the Long Vacation. Members of Council will be expected to serve on its four major statutory committees, and on any of its other committees, if invited to do so.

3. The composition of the five divisions is set out in Decree (1) of 4 November 1999 (Gazette, p. 294). As indicated above, three of the members of Council elected by Congregation must be from faculties in the science divisions, and four from faculties in the humanities and social sciences divisions; while three more must be members of Congregation, but need not be members of a faculty or any division and should not in any case be nominated in a divisional capacity.

4. The normal period of office for members of Council is four years, but the initial periods are being varied to procure a regular rotation of subsequent appointments each year. Under the statutes, the length of the initial period of office of each person elected on 17 February will be determined by the number of votes cast for him or her (or, in the event of an equality of votes or an uncontested election, by academic standing).

5. The heads of the five new divisions are currently being selected, and it is hoped that their identities will have been announced before the closing date for nominations for members of Council.

6. Elections to the Divisional Boards will be held on 9 March, with closing dates of 14 February for two-member nominations, and 29 February (or 23 February in the case of the Medical Sciences Board) for six-member nominations.

Return to List of Contents of this section