Contents of this section:

[Note. An asterisk denotes a reference to a previously published or recurrent entry.]

Return to Contents Page of this issue


On the recommendation of the Clinical Medicine Board, the General Board has conferred the title of Visiting Professor in Haematology on S.N. WICKRAMASINGHE, former professor of Haematology at University College, London, and Head of the Department of Haematology, St Mary's Hospital Medical School and Imperial College School of Medicine at St Mary's, for a period of three years from 1 June 2000.

Return to List of Contents of this section


The Prize has been awarded to MATTHEW STEPHENS, D.PHIL. (BA Cambridge), Magdalen College.

The Corcoran Memorial Lectures will be delivered on Friday, 9 June, by the prizewinner and Professor B.W. Silverman, University of Bristol, in St Anne's College. For full details see `Lectures' below.

Return to List of Contents of this section


The composition of the electoral boards to the posts below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows: Appointed by

Professorship of Geology

The Principal of St Hilda's                         Mr Vice-Chancellor [1]

(Chairman) The Master of University ex officio Professor S. Conway Morris Council Professor B.C. Burchfiel General Board Professor B. Cantor General Board Dr H.C. Jenkyns Physical Sciences Board Professor Sir Keith O'Nions Physical Sciences Board Professor J.H. Woodhouse Physical Sciences Board Dr R. Fortey Biological Sciences Board Dr J.D. Bell University College Fixed-term Five-year Research Professorship in Nanomaterials The Provost of Worcester (Chairman) Mr Vice-Chancellor [1] Professor I.R. Harris Council Professor C.J. Humphreys General Board Professor J.S. Higgins General Board Professor B. Cantor Physical Sciences Board Professor G.D.W. Smith Physical Sciences Board Professor J.B. Pethica Physical Sciences Board Dr M. Speight St Anne's College Dr P.R. Wilshaw St Anne's College Rhodes Professorship of Therapeutic Sciences and Clinical Pharmacology The Master of St Cross (Chairman) Mr Vice-Chancellor [1] The President of Corpus Christi ex officio Professor A. Breckinridge Council Sir Charles George Council Professor E. Sim General Board Professor J.I. Bell Clinical Medicine Board Dr K.A. Fleming Clinical Medicine Board Dr C. Bunch Oxfordshire Health Authority Professor J.C. Ellory Corpus Christi College

[1] Appointed by Mr Vice-Chancellor under the provisions of Tit. IX, Sect. III, cl. 2 (Statutes, 1997, p. 67).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Ewert Place, Ewert House, Summertown, Oxford OX2 7BZ

Isis Innovation, a wholly-owned company of the University, was established in 1988. The company has been formed to exploit know-how arising out of research funded by the UK Government through the Research Councils and funded by other bodies where the rights are not tied. The function of the company is to ensure that the results of research bring rewards to Oxford, and to the inventors, who are given a financial incentive for exploitation.

Isis seeks licensees willing to pay lump sums and/or royalties for the use of know-how arising out of research. Isis also exploits the intellectual property of the University by setting up individual companies using venture capital or development capital funds.

Isis' services are also available to individuals who wish to exploit the results of research supported by non-Research Council sources, when there are no prior conditions on the handling of the intellectual property rights. Isis Innovation has at its disposal a small pre-seedcorn fund for paying the costs of protecting intellectual property rights and for taking work to a stage where its potential can be assessed.

Isis finds industrial partners to ensure that new ideas can be developed for market requirements. The company has established the Oxford Innovation Society for major industrial companies, so that they can have a window on Oxford technology and an opportunity to license and invest where appropriate.

A brochure explaining Isis' activities is available. If you wish to receive a copy, please contact Isis (details below).

Members of the University should contact the Managing Director if they wish to take advantage of the services that Isis provides. (Telephone: (2)72411, fax: (2)72412, e-mail:, Internet: http://www.isis-

Return to List of Contents of this section


Ninth Week courses

In Ninth Week (26–30 June) the Centre is running multi-media courses of fifteen hours each in Intermediate French (GCSE standard and above) and Spanish for Near/False Beginners. Participants will have the opportunity to work with computer-based language learning materials and be introduced to French and Spanish Internet sites. The French course will take place from 9.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m., and the Spanish course from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m., Monday to Friday. For each course the fee will be £50 for junior members of the University and other full-time students, £60 for members of Congregation and members of staff, and £70 to non-members. The fee includes all materials.

An application form for the above courses can be downloaded from the Centre's Web page at index.html.

English for Academic Studies

The Language Centre is also running the following English courses for foreign students, researchers and academic visitors in the summer:

Essentials of Academic Writing: fifteen hours; fee £95 (Ninth Week 26–30 June)

Writing a Research Article in English: ten hours; fee £65 (Ninth Week, 26–30 June)

Special Course in English for Academic Visitors: thirty-six hours; fee £175 (3–20 July). This course will take place mornings only, Monday to Thursday, for three weeks. It will focus on speaking and listening skills, while revising basic grammatical structures and developing vocabulary.

Pre-Sessional Courses: August and September (31 July 31–22 Sept). These full-time courses are designed to ensure that international students and academic visitors are adequately prepared to begin their studies at Oxford and other universities.

Priority Registration for 2000–1

Registration for courses for the academic year 2000–1 will take place at the beginning of Michaelmas Term 2000, with certain exceptions. Those students and staff who require a class for their study or research may be entitled to priority registration. They should ask the Information Officer (see below) for a Priority Application Form and return it as soon as possible after 16 June. Junior members will require the signature of their tutor or supervisor.

Further details of all courses and activities may be obtained from Angela Pinkney at the Language Centre, 12 Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 6HT (telephone: Oxford (2)83360, e-mail:, Internet:

Return to List of Contents of this section