Contents of this section:

[Note. An asterisk denotes a reference to a previously published or recurrent entry.]

Return to Contents Page of this issue


Council's Advisory Committee for Degrees by Diploma and Encaenia Honorary Degrees gives preliminary consideration both to proposals received from members of Congregation for the conferment of degrees by diploma upon royal personages and heads of state on occasions other than Encaenia, and to proposals for the conferment of Encaenia honorary degrees. The current membership of the committee is: Dr P.A. Slack, Principal of Linacre (Pro-Vice- Chancellor, in the chair); Dr R.A. Mayou, Nuffield (Assessor 1999–2000, ex officio); Dr A.M. Bowie, Queen's (Assessor 1998–9, ex officio); Professor J. Griffin, Balliol (Public Orator, ex officio); Mr A.B. Atkinson, Warden of Nuffield; Professor I.C. Butler, Christ Church; Professor R.A. Cowley, Wadham; Professor Sir John Grimley Evans, Green College; Professor N.J. Hitchin, New College; Professor S.D. Iversen, Magdalen; Dr J.M. Rawson, Warden of Merton; Professor A.J. Ryan, Warden of New College. The committee finds it helpful to be able to review all proposals together, in a standard format. Members of Congregation who wish to make suggestions to the committee about honorary degrees to be conferred at the Encaenia in 2000 are therefore asked to do so by sending in proposals which provide information under the following headings:

Name and title of nominee;
Date of birth;
Degrees and membership of learned societies (e.g. FRS, FBA);
Honorary degree proposed;
Oxford college (if any);
University connection (if any) (e.g. Honorary Fellow, Old Member);
Basic biographical details;
Main achievements;
Brief statement as to why it would be particularly appropriate for Oxford to confer an honorary degree at the present time;
Nominee's address for correspondence;
Marital status of nominee;
Name and address of proposer;
Signature and date.

The information should not exceed two A4 pages.

Proposals should be sent to Miss Noon, University Offices, Wellington Square, not later than Friday, 14 May 1999. There is a special form for proposals for degrees by diploma, copies of which are available from Miss Noon.

Members of Congregation wishing to suggest candidates are asked in particular to note the following points:

(a) under Council's standing orders, no member of Council or of the advisory committee shall forward to that committee or propose directly to Council the name of any person for any honorary degree unless he or she is prepared personally to recommend that the conferment of such a degree be seriously considered;

(b) while informal soundings within the University on any proposal will often be desirable, every effort should be made to ensure that publicity is not at any stage given to any proposal for the conferment of an honorary degree. The advisory committee will report to Council early in Michaelmas Term, submitting a short-list of candidates for further consideration. Council will then decide which proposals should be referred to its Committee on Honorary Degrees. The final list of proposed honorands, drawn up by Council in the light of the latter committee's report, will be submitted to Congregation for approval in accordance with the requirements of Tit. II, Sectt. VI and VIII (Statutes, 1997, pp. 14–16).

Return to List of Contents of this section


THE BRENTANO QUARTET will perform the following at 8.30 p.m. on Monday, 26 April, in the Garden Quadrangle Auditorium, St John's College: Purcell, Four-part Fantasias 1, 2, 4, and 6; Nicholas Maw, Quartet, op. 3; Beethoven, Quartet, op. 59, no. 2.

Admission is free and can be reserved by obtaining a programme from the porters' lodge, St John's College. Programmes are reserved for members of St John's until 17 April. Each programme will be valid as an admission ticket until 8.20 p.m. Any vacant seats will be filled from the door during the last ten minutes before the concert starts.

Return to List of Contents of this section