Diary

Contents of this section:

Academic Staff Development Seminars: places should be booked in advance through the Staff Development Office, University Offices, Wellington Square (telephone: (2)70086).

For the full list of courses, see the Staff Development ProgrammeWeb site.

Return to Contents Page of this issue


Saturday 17 July

DEGREE CEREMONIES, Sheldonian, 11.30 a.m. and 2.30 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Wednesday 21 July

SHARDA SAHAI performs Indian music on the tabla, Ashmolean, 6.30 p.m. (admission £15; tickets from the Playhouse Box Office, Beaumont Street, tel. 798600).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Monday 26 July

UNIVERSITY HOLIDAY PLAYSCHEME begins, St Frideswide Middle School (until 27 August).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Saturday 31 July

DEGREE CEREMONIES, Sheldonian, 11.30 a.m. and 2.30 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Monday 23 August

SPECIAL LECTURE LIST, Michaelmas Term: entries to be received by today (e- mail: lecture.lists@admin.ox.ac.uk).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 31 August

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM exhibition opens: `No day without a line: the Royal Society of Painter-Printmakers 1880--1999' (until 31 October).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Friday 1 October

MICHAELMAS TERM begins.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Saturday 2 October

DEGREE CEREMONY, Sheldonian, 2.30 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Sunday 10 October

MICHAELMAS FULL TERM begins.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Saturday 16 October

MATRICULATION CEREMONY, Convocation House (colleges to be informed of time).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Thursday 21 October

PROFESSOR HERMIONE LEE (Goldsmiths' Professor of English Literature): `Reading in bed' (inaugural lecture), Lecture Room 2, St Cross Building, 5 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Saturday 23 October

DEGREE CEREMONIES, Sheldonian, 11.30 a.m. and 2.30 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 2 November

PROFESSOR PAUL MULDOON (Professor of Poetry): `The end of the poem: "All Souls' Night" by W.B. Yeats' (Inaugural Lecture), Schools, 5 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Friday 5 November

PROFESSOR T. CARTER: `Io la Musica son': Monteverdi and the problems of opera' (Rowe Memorial Lecture), Schools, 5 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section