Contents of this section:

[Note. An asterisk denotes a reference to a previously published or recurrent entry.]

Return to Contents Page of this issue


Junior Scholarships have been awarded to the following:

N.J. ALLEN, Christ Church (Spanish)
J.D. DINGLEY, Balliol College (French)
C.A. GITTINS, Christ Church (French)
C.E. HEIME, Oriel College (French)
O.J. HENMAN, Queen's College (Portuguese)
E. IMMAMBOCUS, Queen's College (Spanish)
T.C. LEACH, St Catherine's College (Spanish)
J.B. LOTINGA, Oriel College (German)
R.D.A. ORCHARD, Magdalen College (French)
C.H.G. PRICE, Queen's College (Russian)
C.G. ROSSI, St Hugh's College (Italian)
D.R. SANDERS, St John's College (German)
P.J. WATTERSON, Queen's College (German)

Return to List of Contents of this section


A Kolkhorst Exhibition in Spanish, with effect from the beginning of Michaelmas Term 1998, has been awarded to MS KATE BENYON-TINKER, New College.

A Kolkhorst Exhibition has also been awarded to R. NORTON, Lady Margaret Hall.

Return to List of Contents of this section


The composition of the electoral boards to the posts below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows:

                                      Appointed by

Professorship of Sociology

Mr Vice-Chancellor                    ex officio
The Warden of Nuffield                ex officio
Professor Dr Karl Ulrich Mayer        Council
Professor A. Sorensen                 General Board
Lord Runciman                         General Board
Dr D.A. Coleman                       Social Studies Board
Dr D. Gambetta                        Social Studies Board
Dr M.F.E. Philp                       Social Studies Board
Dr G. Marshall                        Nuffield College

Barnett Professorship of Social Policy

The Provost of Worcester (Chairman)   Mr Vice-Chancellor [1]
The Master of St Cross                ex officio
The Warden of Nuffield                Council
Professor J. Hills                    General Board
Professor J. Bradshaw                 General Board
Mrs B.L. Hudson                       Social Studies Board
Mr M.W.J. Noble                       Social Studies Board
Mrs T. Smith                          Social Studies Board
Professor W.R. James                  St Cross College

[1] Appointed by Mr Vice-Chancellor under the provisions of Tit. IX, Sect. iii, cl. 2 (Statutes, 1997, p. 67).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Alteration to parking arrangements

Revised notice

The following alterations to parking arrangements in the South Parks Road Car Park apply from Monday, 8 March.

The existing entrance from South Parks Road will be closed to car park users. This entrance will be used from 8 March for contractor's site access only.

The existing exit to Mansfield Road will be modified for use as both entrance and exit to the car park.

Approximately sixty car parking spaces will be taken out of use to form a contractor's compound adjacent to the rear of 1 South Parks Road.

To compensate for the loss of these spaces, the validity of the fluorescent green permits for the 2–4 South Parks Road car park will be extended to cover all available designated spaces in the Science Area.

In view of the inevitable increase in pressure on the remaining spaces, all staff who normally use their car for getting to work are asked to review their travel arrangements and are urged to use alternative means if at all possible.

The University Surveyor's Office regrets any inconvenience caused by these alterations, which are due to the commencement of works on the new Rothermere American Institute.

Return to List of Contents of this section


University Counselling Service

The hours of the Counselling Service will be as follows during the Easter Vacation:

Monday, 29 March–Wednesday, 31 March inclusive: open 9.30 a.m.–1.30 p.m.

Thursday, 1 April–Friday, 9 April inclusive: closed.

Monday, 12 April–Friday, 16 April inclusive: open 9.30 a.m.–1.30 p.m.

From Monday, 18 April, usual hours: open 9.15 a.m.–5.15 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section

Gazette publication arrangements

The final Gazettes of term will appear on 18 and 25 March. Publication for Trinity Term will begin on 22 April.

Appointments Supplements will appear with the Gazettes of 18 March and 29 April.

The usual deadlines will apply.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Change of address

The Centre, under the directorship of Professor Malcolm Bowie, FBA, All Souls, fosters advanced research in the humanities. It places a special emphasis on the interdisciplinary dimension of humanities research and brings together, by way of its academic programmes, scholars from Europe and further afield. The Centre has a thriving publications programme under its Legenda imprint.

The Centre has now moved to 76 Woodstock Road, St Hugh's College, Oxford OX2 6LE (telephone: Oxford (2)84680, fax: (2)84681, e-mail:, Internet:

The editorial address of the Legenda publications programme will remain the Taylor Institution, 47 Wellington Square, Oxford OX1 2JF.

Return to List of Contents of this section