University Agenda

Contents of this section:

[Note. An asterisk denotes a reference to a previously published or recurrent entry.]
  • * Note on procedures in Congregation
  • * List of forthcoming Degree Days
  • * List of forthcoming Matriculation Ceremonies

    Return to Contents Page of this issue

    CONGREGATION 29 September

    Degree by Special Resolution

    The following special resolution will be deemed to be approved at noon on 29 September, unless by that time the Registrar has received notice in writing from two or more members of Congregation under the provisions of Tit. II, Sect. vi, cl. 6 (Statutes, 1995, p. 13) that they wish the resolution to be put to a meeting of Congregation.

    Text of Special Resolution

    That the Degree of Master of Arts be conferred upon the following:

    PETER GEORGE BEER, Jesus College

    WILLIAM BEINART, St Antony's College

    LESLIE MICHAEL BETHELL, MA status, St Antony's College

    RICHARD DICKERSON, Lincoln College


    HARRY BARKUS GRAY, Balliol College

    RALPH HANNA, Keble College


    ERNEST RICHARD MAY, Queen's College

    SENIA PASETA, Merton College

    NELSON POLSBY, Nuffield College

    JONATHAN MARK PRESTON, St Anne's College

    LLOYD TREFETHEN, Balliol College


    Return to List of Contents of this section

    CONGREGATION 7 October 12 noon

    1 Retiring Vice-Chancellor's Oration

    Mr Vice-Chancellor will address the House.

    2 Admission of Vice-Chancellor for 1997–2001

    C.R. LUCAS, MA, D.PHIL., Master of Balliol College, will be admitted to office as Vice-Chancellor for four years from October 1997.

    3 Admission of Pro-Vice-Chancellors

    The following persons will be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor to be his deputies for the year 1997–8 and will be admitted to office:

    P.M. NORTH, CBE, QC, DCL, Principal of Jesus College
    PROFESSOR SIR RICHARD SOUTHWOOD, MA, D.SC., Fellow of Merton College
    SIR ANTHONY KENNY, MA, D.PHIL., D.LITT., HON. DCL, Warden of Rhodes House
    SIR KEITH THOMAS, MA, President of Corpus Christi College
    W. HAYES, MA, D.PHIL, President of St John's College
    THE REVD E.W. NICHOLSON, DD, Provost of Oriel College
    R.C. REPP, MA, D.PHIL., Master of St Cross College
    E.M. LLEWELLYN-SMITH, CB, MA, Principal of St Hilda's College
    R.G. SMETHURST, MA, Provost of Worcester College
    P.A. SLACK, MA, D.PHIL., Principal of Linacre College

    4 Admission of Clerks of the Market

    M.G. BROCK, CBE, MA, Honorary Fellow of Corpus Christi, Nuffield, and Wolfson Colleges, nominated by the Chancellor, and J.B. BAMBOROUGH, MA, Honorary Fellow of Linacre, New, and Wadham Colleges, nominated by the Vice-Chancellor, will be admitted to office as Clerks of the Market for the year 1997–8.

    Return to List of Contents of this section

    CONGREGATION 14 October

    Promulgation of Statutes

    Statute (4): Redesignation of the Rank Foundation Professorship of Electro-optic Engineering

    Explanatory note

    In 1990 the University accepted an extremely generous grant from the Rank Foundation to provide for the first five years of the tenure of a Professorship of Electro- optic Engineering, during which period the chair would bear the name of the sponsors. Professor G. Parry was appointed as first holder of the chair from 1 October 1993. Professor Parry has resigned with effect from 30 September 1997 on appointment to another post, and the chair has been released for refilling. As the next tenure of the professorship will not be funded by the Rank Foundation, alternative financial arrangements have been approved by Council and the General Board. The following statute, and the decree to be made by Council if the statute is approved, accordingly redesignate the chair. The draft decree also provides for a standard nine-member electoral board, rather than the ten-member board set up for the first election.

    (4) WHEREAS it is expedient to rename the Rank Foundation Professorship of Electro-optic Engineering, THE UNIVERSITY ENACTS AS FOLLOWS.

    In Tit. XIV, Sect. II, cl. 1 (Statutes, 1995, p. 106), delete `Rank Foundation Professorship of Electro-optic Engineering' and substitute: `Professorship of Optoelectronic Engineering'.

    Decree to be made by Council if the Statute is approved

    1 In Ch. II, Sect. VI, § 1, SCHEDULE, concerning official members of faculty boards (Statutes, 1995, p. 231), under Physical Sciences, delete `Engineering, Electro-optic, Rank Foundation' and substitute `Engineering, Optoelectronic'.

    2 In Ch. VII, Sect. I, § 5. B, SCHEDULE A, concerning professorships (p. 368), delete `Rank Foundation Professor of Electro-optic Engineering' and substitute: `Professor of Optoelectronic Engineering'.

    3 Ibid., Sect. III, concerning particular professorships (p. 403), delete § 68 and substitute:

    `§ 68. Professor of Optoelectronic Engineering

    1. The Professor of Optoelectronic Engineering shall lecture and give instruction in Optoelectronic Engineering.

    2. The professor shall be elected by an electoral board consisting of:

    (1) the Vice-Chancellor, or, if the head of the college specified in (2) of this clause is Vice- Chancellor, a person appointed by Council;

    (2) the head of the college to which the professorship shall be for the time being allocated by Council under any decree in that behalf, or, if the head is unable or unwilling to act, a person appointed by the governing body of the college;

    (3) a person appointed by the governing body of the college specified in (2) of this clause;

    (4) a person appointed by Council;

    (5), (6) two persons appointed by the General Board;

    (7)–(9) three persons appointed by the Board of the Faculty of Physical Sciences.

    3. The professor shall be subject to the General Provisions of the decree concerning the duties of professors and to those Particular Provisions of the same decree which are applicable to this chair.'

    Return to List of Contents of this section