University Agenda

Contents of this section:

[Note. An asterisk denotes a reference to a previously published or recurrent entry.]

Return to Contents Page of this issue


Degree by Special Resolution

The following special resolution will be deemed to be approved at noon on 20 October, unless by that time the Registrar has received notice in writing from two or more members of Congregation under the provisions of Tit. II, Sect. vi, cl. 6 (Statutes, 1997, p. 14) that they wish the resolution to be put to a meeting of Congregation.

Text of Special Resolution

That the Degree of Master of Arts be conferred upon the following:


Return to List of Contents of this section

CONGREGATION 25 October 2.30 p.m.

Conferment of Honorary Degree

The Degree of Master of Arts, honoris causa, approved by Special Resolution of Congregation on 11 March 1997, will be conferred upon MISS ANNE SMALLWOOD, MBE.

Return to List of Contents of this section

CONGREGATION 4 November 2 p.m.

¶ Members of Congregation are reminded that written notice of any proposed amendments to, or of any intention to vote against, the following statutes, and of any wish to speak or to ask a question concerning the retiring Vice-Chancellor's Oration, signed by at least two members of Congregation, must be given to the Registrar by noon on Monday, 27 October (see the Guide to Procedures in Congregation cited in the note at the end of `University Agenda').

2 Presentation of retiring Vice-Chancellor's Oration

The Oration delivered by the retiring Vice-Chancellor on 7 October will be presented and may be discussed.

¶ The text of the Oration has been published as Supplement (3) to Gazette No. 4449.

Return to List of Contents of this section



                              VACANCIES       RETIRING     PERIOD
                                              MEMBERS      FROM MT
Visitatorial Board Panel      Three      See notes below   1 year
                              Three                        2 years
                              Three                        3 years
                              Three                        4 years 

¶ Nominations in writing by two members of Congregation will be received by the Head Clerk at the University Offices, Wellington Square, up to 4 p.m. on Monday, 27 October, and similar nominations by six members of Congregation up to 4 p.m. on Monday, 3 November.

Council has decided that nominations should show for each signatory the name and college or department in block capitals. Any names which are not so shown may not be published. At least one nomination in respect of each candidate must be made on an official nomination form. Copies of the form are obtainable from the Head Clerk (telephone: (2)70190; e-mail:

Under Tit. VIII, Sect. I, cl. 1, as amended by the Statute approved by Congregation on 11 February 1997 and by Her Majesty in Council on 22 July 1997 (Gazette, Vol. 127, pp. 712, 742; Statutes, 1997, p. 53), candidates must be members of the University of the Degree of Master of Arts at the least, of not less than ten years' standing as Masters of Arts.

Under the provisions of Ch. XI, Sect. II, § 1, cl. 1, as amended by Decree (6) of 6 February 1997 (Gazette, Vol. 127, p. 709; Statutes, 1997, p. 765), candidates for election to the Visitatorial Board Panel may be nominated by Council, as well as by members of Congregation under the normal procedure for elections in Congregation. Council has nominated the following twelve persons on this occasion:

1. J.A. BLACK, B.PHIL., MA, D.PHIL., Fellow of Wolfson

2. P.A.W. BULLOCH, MA, D.PHIL., Fellow of Balliol

3. B. CANTOR, MA, Fellow of St Catherine's

4. F.M. HEAL, MA, D.PHIL., Fellow of Jesus

5. I. HONEYMAN, MA, Fellow of St Hugh's

6. R.G. HOOD, MA, D.PHIL., Fellow of All Souls*

7. L.N. JOHNSON, MA, Fellow of Corpus Christi*

8. T.T. LIU, MA, D.PHIL., Fellow of Wadham

9. F.M.B. REYNOLDS, DCL, Fellow of Worcester*

10. J.S. ROWETT, MA, D.PHIL., Fellow of Brasenose*

11. S.J. SIMPSON, MA, Fellow of Jesus

12. G.A. STOY, MA, D.PHIL., Fellow of Lady Margaret Hall*

* Members of the Visitatorial Board under the previous constitution.

Note on the body concerned

The Visitatorial Board is responsible for making recommendations to the Vice-Chancellor (or other appropriate officer) on serious disciplinary cases involving members of the academic or academic-related staff. (It does not have responsibility for dealing with incapacity on medical grounds, or complaints against the Vice-Chancellor himself or herself.) Four members of the board, as from time to time constituted to consider an individual case, are selected by lot from a panel of twelve persons elected by Congregation. The board is chaired by a person with professional legal experience who is appointed by the High Steward of the University (the current chairman being the Principal of St Hugh's).

Return to List of Contents of this section