No. 4410 Thursday 26 September 1996 Vol. 127

Oxford scientists help build Mars probe : Scientists at the Department of Atmospheric Physics are building equipment for a NASA mission to Mars, to be launched in 1998.

Advance in search for cause of asthma : Researchers at the Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics in Oxford have moved a step closer to finding the genes responsible for causing asthma, a condition which affects one in seven children and two million adults in Britain.

New Director appointed for Bodleian Library : Mr Reg Carr, Dean of Information Strategy, University Librarian, and Keeper of the Brotherton Collection, University of Leeds, since 1986, has been appointed to the new post of Director of University Library Services and Bodley's Librarian, with effect from 1 January 1997.

Scientists focus on the brain : More than eighty scientists from different departments in the University will work together to study the higher functions of the brain via a new Inter-disciplinary Research Centre for Cognitive Neuroscience.

Student group wins radio licence : Oxygen FM, the student radio consortium backed by leading University figures, has been awarded a full broadcasting licence for a new radio station in Oxford.

Business School Director : Professor John Kay has been appointed as the new Director of the School of Management Studies.

Vice-Chancellor to chair Ulster review : The Vice-Chancellor, Dr Peter North, has been appointed by Sir Patrick Mayhew, Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, to chair an independent review of parades and marches in the province. The committee is due to report by January 1997.

Erikson Award : Dr Yuen Foong Khong, John G. Winant University Lecturer in American Foreign Policy and Fellow of Nuffield, has won the Erik H Erikson Early Career Award, presented by the International Society of Political Psychology.

Morgan Prize : The J.P. Morgan Prize in Finance, awarded by the School of Management Studies, has been won by Madhusudhan Raghunath, an M.Phil. student at Templeton College.

Mathematicians honoured : Two Oxford pure mathematicians have been honoured by the London Mathematical Society. Dr Roger Heath-Brown, Fellow of Magdalen College, was awarded the Senior Berwick Prize, and Dr John Roe, Fellow of Jesus College, was awarded the Junior Whitehead Prize.

Suggestions for items to be included in the Gazette
news pages are welcome, and should be sent to the
Press Office, telephone(2)78181, fax (2)78180.

| This week's Gazette Home Page | University Home Page |