Colleges, Halls, and Societies

Contents of this section:

Return to Contents Page of this issue


Exeter College

ROY PHILIP ARTHUR, 21 January 1994; commoner 1945. Aged 68.

THE REVD CANON AUGUSTINE THOMAS ISAAC BOGGIS, 15 June 1995; commoner 1927. Aged 86.

JAMES RUSSELL COLEBURT, 29 July 1995; Open Scholar 1939. Aged 64.

NEIL ANTHONY COLLIVER, 6 August 1995; commoner 1978. Aged 35.

THE REVD WILLIAM PAUL SEYMOUR DAVIES, October 1994; commoner 1948. Aged 67.

FRANCIS WILLIAM ESSEX, 10 July 1995; commoner 1938. Aged 79.

PETER MANSON JACKSON, 11 August 1995; Open Exhibitioner 1957. Aged 58.

THE REVD CANON SIR JAMES SEYMOUR DENNIS MANSELL, KCVO, TD, 22 September 1995; matriculated 1929. Aged 88.

KENNETH FORBES MALCOLMSON, 19 August 1995; Organ Scholar 1931. Aged 84.

THE REVD CANON BRIAN MORLEY RICHARDS, February 1995; Sykes Exhibitioner 1928.

HIS HONOUR JUDGE DAVID BARRY WILLIAMS, QC, TD, 15 July 1995; matriculated 1951. Aged 64.

Return to List of Contents of this section


University College

A Memorial Concert for LORD GOODMAN, CH, QC (HON.), Master of University College 1976–86, will be held at 8.45 p.m. on Friday, 17 November, in the Hall, University College.

Refreshments will be available. An exhibition in the Hall will be arranged by the Museum of Modern Art.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Brasenose College

To Open Scholarships:

THOMAS H. FURLONG, formerly of Charterhouse

HARINI IYENGAR, formerly of Manchester High School for Girls

JEREMY LINDSAY, formerly of Wallace High School

SEAMUS W.J. MCCAULEY, formerly of Prince Henry's Grammar School, Otley

EUGENE MATHIEU, formerly of St Paul's Girls' School, London

KAROLOS SEEGER, formerly of the German School, London

JU YEN TAN, formerly of Winchester College

DAVID P. TYFIELD, formerly of Clifton College

JAMES P. WILLCOCKS formerly of Canford School

GWILYM WRIGHT, formerly of Wycliffe College, Stonehouse

MING WU, formerly of Raffles Junior College, Singapore

THOMAS L. YULE, formerly of St Bartholomew's School, Newbury

To a Ware Exhibition in Engineering Science:

JONATHAN RHODES JAMES, formerly of Haileybury

To a Somerset Iver Exhibition in Modern Languages:

DAVID E. KLASS, formerly of Manchester Grammar School

To Open Exhibitions:

HELEN E. AMBROSE, formerly of King's School, Ely

RICHARD A. BABINGTON, formerly of Codsall High School, Wolverhampton

PHOEBE R. BLACKBURN, formerly of Queen Anne's School, Caversham

LYE WAN CHAN, formerly of Cheltenham Ladies' College

DAVID R. CROWTHER, formerly of Solihull School

CLAIRE M. DUNKERLEY, formerly of Lycée Français, London

MARK J. FLAVELL, formerly of King Edward VI College, Stourbridge

ROMILLY T. GREENHILL, formerly of United World College of the Atlantic

DANIEL J. HAND, formerly of Yale Sixth-Form College, Wrexham

SEBASTIAN D. JESTER, formerly of Mathias Claudius Gymnasium, Hamburg

ALYSON R.G. KING, formerly of Morrison's Academy, Crieff

CONSTANTINE MITSIOU, formerly of Athens GCE Tutorial College

JUDITH NICHOLSON, formerly of Coventry School (King Henry VIII)

ALISON H.L. REA, formerly of Methodist College, Belfast

LISA R. STEPHENSON, formerly of Henrietta Barnett School

Return to List of Contents of this section

Corpus Christi College

To a Research Fellowship (to be held in conjunction with a Royal Society University Research Fellowship):


Return to List of Contents of this section

Hertford College

To an Honorary Fellowship:



Lady Margaret Hall

To Scholarships:

RICHARD J. ALLWOOD, formerly of Boston Spa Comprehensive School

CAROLINE BONE, formerly of Bournemouth School for Girls

MARK A. COLLINS, formerly of Our Lady's Roman Catholic High School, Lancaster

HYWELL N. DINSDALE, formerly of the Manchester Grammar School, Rusholme

VAHID FARZAD, formerly of the Judd School, Tonbridge

PETER J. HARTHAN, formerly of Manchester Grammar School

JAMES T. LINDSAY, formerly of the Royal Grammar School, Guildford

MARTIN J. LLOYD, formerly of Gosforth High School, Newcastle upon Tyne

RHIANNON M. MEREDITH, formerly of Bablake School, Coventry

JOSHUA N. MUNRO, formerly of Christ's College, Finchley

SARAH C. NAPUK, formerly of Mary Erskine School, Edinburgh

LAY SAN NG, formerly of Hwa Chong Junior College, Singapore

HELEN A. ROBERTS, formerly of Ysgol Gyfun Rhyfdfelen, Pontypridd

REBECCA J. WRIGHT, formerly of the Queen's School, Chester

Return to List of Contents of this section

Merton College

To a Postmastership:

M.C. NELSON, formerly of Bradford Grammar School

To an Exhibition:

M.C. SIMPSON, formerly of Bryanston School

Return to List of Contents of this section

St Anne's College

To Emeritus Fellowships:




Return to List of Contents of this section

To Scholarships:

BENJAMIN R. ALEXANDER, formerly of Christ's College, London

CLARE E. CHAMBERS, formerly of Queen Mary's College, Basingstoke

CLAIRE L. CHAPMAN, formerly of De Aston School, Market Rasen

SAM DATHORNE, formerly of Tapton School, Sheffield

ALEXANDER M. DEXTER, formerly of Chesterfield School

ROBERT FISH, formerly of Todmorden High School

DAVID P. GARDNER, formerly of Northampton College

TIMOTHY M. HADEN, formerly of King Edward VI School, Louth

JESSICA B. HININGS, formerly of Notre Dame High School, Norwich

ROBERT A. ILLINGWORTH, formerly of Warwick School

CHARLES E. KINGSTON, formerly of Twyford Church of England High School, London

ANDREW J. LAWRENCE, formerly of Bexhill College

HANNA LLEWELLYN-WATERS, formerly of Haberdashers' Monmouth Girls' School

JAMES M. OLIVER, formerly of Castle School, Bristol

SOCRATES P. PAPADOPOULOS, formerly of Campion School, Athens

SIMON A. VAUGHAN, formerly of Royal Grammar School, Guildford

COLIN WEST, formerly of Hutcheson's Grammar School, Glasgow

Return to List of Contents of this section

To Exhibitions:

RUTH M. BESTWICK, formerly of Withington Girls' School, Manchester

GREGORY A. BRADLEY, formerly of Bangor Grammar School


CLAUDIA F.E. JENKINS, formerly of Oxford High School

JEREMY D. KING, formerly of Forest School, Wokingham

ZOE PALMER, formerly of Cirencester College

SOPHIA L. SWITHERN, formerly of South Hampstead High School

Return to List of Contents of this section

St Catherine's College

To Scholarships:

CAMILLA BRAY, formerly of Wellington College, Crowthorne

LUKE CLARK, formerly of Reading School

SIMON COOK, formerly of Abingdon School

JULIAN DE BONO, formerly of Eton College

ADAM FOULDS, formerly of Bancroft's School, Woodford Green

ALEX FRAME, formerly of Ryde School

GUAN GOH, formerly of Taylor's College, Malaysia

ANNE GOLDSMITH, formerly of Presdales School, Ware

ISOBEL LEE, formerly of Nottingham High School for Girls

JO LONG, formerly of Stockport Grammar School

OWEN MASSEY, formerly of Monks Park School, Bristol

RICHARD SQUIRE, formerly of King's School, Bruton

MARK TIERNEY, formerly of St Edward's College, Liverpool

Return to List of Contents of this section

To a Brook Scholarship:

JONATHAN ISAAC, formerly of Hampton School

To a Clothworkers' Scholarship:

MALWINA LUCZAK, formerly of Nicholas Copernicus University, Poland

To a Philip Fothergill Scholarship:

SIMON BAYES, formerly of North London Collegiate School

To a Geoffrey Griffith Scholarhip:

SOON HENG TEY, formerly of Hwa Chong Junior College, Singapore

To a Kaye Scholarship:

NIKHIL SHARMA, formerly of Manshead School, Luton

To a David Landau Scholarship:

ADAM ROSENTHAL, formerly of King David High School, Liverpool

To a Sembal Scholarship:

ROBIN HOBBS, formerly of Truro School

Return to List of Contents of this section