Diary

Contents of this section:

Academic Staff Seminars: places should be booked in advance through the Staff Development Office, University Offices, Wellington Square (telephone: (2)70086).

For the full list of courses, see the Staff Development Programme supplement.

Return to Contents Page of this issue


Friday 26 July

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `Pissarro', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Saturday 27 July

DEGREE conferments, Sheldonian, 11.30 a.m. and 2.30 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Monday 29 July

WOLFSON COLLEGE exhibition opens: work by American artist, Chester Williams (1921–94) (until 27 September, 10 a.m.–4 p.m., subject to college commitments; tel. the lodge beforehand: (2)74100).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 30 July

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `The Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Friday 2 August

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `Shakespeare's World', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 6 August

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `The Romans in Oxfordshire', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Friday 9 August

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `Seventeenth-century Dutch paintings', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 13 August

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `Pottery of the Renaissance', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Friday 16 August

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `Islamic metalwork: the Nuhad Es-Said Collection', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 20 August

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `Techniques in painting and drawing', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Friday 23 August

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `Costume in Renaissance art', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 27 August

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `A bird-watcher's guide to the Ashmolean', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Friday 30 August

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `Jewellery in the ancient world', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 10 September

DR S. DAVIES: `Reflections on chemistry' (Oxford Innovation Society talk), Department of Pharmacology, 6 p.m. (admission by ticket only, from Isis Innovation: (2)72411).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 1 October

MICHAELMAS TERM begins.

D. VAISEY: `The Bodleian Library and its treasures' (Friends of the Bodleian London Lecture), Society of Antiquaries, Burlington House, Piccadilly, 6 p.m. (to attend, tel. the Membership Secretary: Oxford (2)77234).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Saturday 5 October

DEGREE conferments, Sheldonian, 2.30 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Monday 7 October

CONGREGATION elections, 24 October: nominations by two members of Congregation to be received at the University Offices by 4 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 8 October

CONGREGATION meeting, 12 noon (vice- Chancellor's Oration)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Sunday 13 October

MICHAELMAS FULL TERM begins.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Monday 14 October

CONGREGATION elections, 24 October: nominations by six members of Congregation to be received at the University Offices by 4 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 15 October

CONGREGATION meeting, 2 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Friday 18 October

COLLOQUIUM: `Philosophical dialogues in performance' (until Sunday) (for information and registration, contact the European Humanities Research Centre: (2)80742).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Saturday 19 October

MATRICULATION ceremony, Sheldonian (time to be announced).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 22 October

CONGREGATION meeting, 2 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Thursday 24 October

PROFESSOR B. CUNLIFFE: `Landscapes with people' (Linacre Lectures: `Culture and environment'), Lecture Theatre A, Zoology/Psychology Building, 5.30 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section