Diary

Contents of this section:

Academic Staff Seminars: places should be booked in advance through the Staff Development Office, University Offices, Wellington Square (telephone: (2)70086).

For the full list of courses, see the Staff Development Programme supplement.

Return to Contents Page of this issue


Friday 12 July

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `A breath of French air', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Saturday 13 July

DEGREE conferments, Sheldonian, 11.30 a.m. and 2.30 p.m.

Tuesday 16 July

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `Hairstyles, wigs, and whiskers (men's fashions)', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Friday 19 July

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `Finger rings', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 23 July

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `Chinese bronzes', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Friday 26 July

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `Pissarro', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Saturday 27 July

DEGREE conferments, Sheldonian, 11.30 a.m. and 2.30 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 30 July

ASHMOLEAN MUSEUM gallery talk: `The Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood', 1.15 p.m. (Cost: £1.50. Tel. for bookings: (2)78015.)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 10 September

DR S. DAVIES: `Reflections on chemistry' (Oxford Innovation Society talk), Department of Pharmacology, 6 p.m. (admission by ticket only, from Isis Innovation: (2)72411).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 1 October

MICHAELMAS TERM begins.

D. VAISEY: `The Bodleian Library and its treasures' (Friends of the Bodleian London Lecture), Society of Antiquaries, Burlington House, Piccadilly, 6 p.m. (to attend, tel. the Membership Secretary: Oxford (2)77234).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Saturday 5 October

DEGREE conferments, Sheldonian, 2.30 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Monday 7 October

CONGREGATION elections, 24 October: nominations by two members of Congregation to be received at the University Offices by 4 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Tuesday 8 October

CONGREGATION meeting, 12 noon (vice-Chancellor's Oration)

Return to List of Contents of this section


Sunday 13 October

MICHAELMAS FULL TERM begins.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Monday 14 October

CONGREGATION elections, 24 October: nominations by six members of Congregation to be received at the University Offices by 4 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Saturday 19 October

MATRICULATION ceremony, Sheldonian (time to be announced).

Return to List of Contents of this section


Thursday 24 October

PROFESSOR B. CUNLIFFE: `Landscapes with people' (Linacre Lectures: `Culture and environment'), Lecture Theatre A, Zoology/Psychology Building, 5.30 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Saturday 26 October

DEGREE conferments, Sheldonian, 11.30 a.m. and 2.30 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Thursday 7 November

PROFESSOR D. LOWENTHAL: `Environment as heritage: legacies of locale' (Linacre Lectures: `Culture and environment'), Lecture Theatre A, Zoology/Psychology Building, 5.30 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section


Saturday 9 November

DEGREE conferments, Sheldonian, 11.30 a.m. and 2.30 p.m.

Return to List of Contents of this section