Erasmus is the European Commission's flagship educational programme for higher education students, teachers, and institutions. It was introduced with the aim of increasing student mobility within Europe and forms part of the EU Lifelong Learning Programme (2007-2013).

It encourages student and staff mobility for study and work, and promotes transnational co-operation projects among universities across Europe. The scheme currently involves 9 out of every 10 European higher education establishments and supports co-operation between the universities of 33 countries.

Erasmus students receive a mobility grant in order to assist with the additional costs that occur when studying or working abroad. This grant is in addition to any tuition fee loans and maintenance support that students may already be eligible for. Students can undertake up to two Erasmus mobility periods during their time in higher education and each period must be for a minimum of 3 months and a maximum of 12 months in duration.

Erasmus at the University of Oxford

Opportunities to study and work abroad through Erasmus are available in a small number of the University of Oxford’s degree programmes. The period of study or work abroad under Erasmus must be an integrated part of the degree.

For undergraduate students, Erasmus opportunities are currently available in the following departments/faculties:

  • Medieval and Modern Languages (study exchanges and work placements)
  • Law (study exchanges only, and only within the Law with Law Studies in Europe programme)
  • Biochemistry (study exchanges only)

Erasmus opportunities are also currently available for postgraduate students who are from the faculties of German and History.

For more information, please see the relevant pages: