Oxford University Philharmonia: Bartók, Mahler | University of Oxford

Oxford University Philharmonia: Bartók, Mahler

Event date
Event time
19:30 - 21:30
Sheldonian Theatre
Broad Street
Event type
Event cost
£6 / £12 online, £7 / £14 on the door
Disabled access?
Booking required

The Oxford University Philharmonia performs Mahler's 2nd Symphony ('Resurrection') and the Bartók Viola Concerto. Mahler's monumental exploration of death and resurrection is one of his most accomplished works, praised as "a heart-shattering work of genius" and "simply one of the greatest works of art ever created". Bartók's haunting Viola concerto was the composer's swansong, left unfinished upon his death. We are delighted to be performing it with the sensational soloist Rachel Maxey.

Leader: Amy Kent
Conductor: John Warner
Soprano Solo: Anna Lawrence
Alto Solo: Lila Chrisp
Featuring the combined choirs of the University of Oxford