New Music for Oboe & Electronics | University of Oxford

New Music for Oboe & Electronics

Chris Redgate (oboe) & Paul Archbold (electronics)
Jacqueline du Pré Music Building
Jacqueline du Pré Music Building, St Hilda's College
Cowley Place
£8/£5 on the door
Not required

Nigel McBride
uncompromisingness with which dogma is held (world premiere)
Paul Archbold
Zechstein (world premiere)
Edwin Roxburgh
‘…at the still point of the turning world…’
Heinz Holliger

Two classic works for oboe and electronics are programmed alongside two new works for solo oboe to create a programme which is edgy, virtuosic, confrontational and even theatrical. McBride’s new work “plays with aspects of memory and perception via some of the most transcendentally virtuosic music ever written for oboe” while Archbold’s Zechstein is a tranquil work exploiting the vast range of multiphonics possible on the new Howarth-Redgate oboe. The programme concludes with Holliger’s highly-virtuosic Cardiophonie, where the oboist takes his tempo from the amplified sounds of his own breath and heartbeat.