Inspirational Teachers Award | University of Oxford
Inspirational Teachers' Awards
Inspirational Teachers' Awards

Inspirational Teachers Award

For the last six years, the Undergraduate Admissions and Outreach office at the University of Oxford has run a scheme to recognise inspirational teachers from UK schools and colleges – in 2016 ten teachers from around the UK have been honoured with one of the awards.

These videos show just how and why the winners were inspirational for their students.

2016 winners

2015 winners

2014 winners

The 2015/2016 Award   winners are:

 Jamie Beard, Bryntirion Comprehensive School

 John Course, Robert   Clack School of Science

 Edward Davison, Ark   Putney Academy 

 Jude Devlin, St.   Thomas Aquinas Catholic Secondary School

 Hamish Harron, Headlands   School 

 Lynne Jones, Ysgol   Dyffryn Ogwen

 Patricia Knights, Camborne   Science and International Academy

 Emmanuel Kumadoh, Nene   Park Academy 

 Gill Power, Shenfield   High School

 Iain Wilson, Grange   Academy

The 2014/2015 Award   winners are:

 Peter Bardon, of   The Hermitage Academy in Chester-le-Street

 Alison Boardman, of Hornsey School for Girls in Haringey

 Kathryn Brooks, of Sir Robert Pattinson Academy in North Hykeham

 Michael Curry, of Holy Family Catholic High School in Thornton

 Peter Gross, MBE, of Enfield Grammar School in Enfield

 Claire Hall, of Highdown School and Sixth Form Centre in Reading

 Joy Humphrey, of The Ilfracombe Academy in Ilfracombe

 Sheena Kar, of West Cumbria Catholic Sixth Form Centre (St Benedict's   Catholic High School) in Whitehaven

 Jo Kemp, of Fitzalan High School in Cardiff

 David Perkins, of Duffryn High School in Newport

 Gurnimrat Sidhu, of Oaks Park High School Sixth Form in Ilford

 Stella Vassiliou, of Didcot Girls' School and Didcot Sixth Form in  Didcot

The 2013/14 Award   winners are:

Oliver Baggaley,   now of Sandringham School in St Albans

  Theresa Ball, of Barnhill Community High School in Hayes

  Mary Bradford, of Sir John Leman High School in Beccles

  Karen Davies, of Hinchley Wood School in Esher

  Andrea Lucas, of The Holy Cross School in New Malden

  Stephanie Lucas, of Saint Joseph's RC School and Sixth Form Centre in Port  Talbot

  Victoria Mandizha, of Brentford School for Girls in Brentford

  Carole Slade, of Notre Dame Roman Catholic Secondary School in Plymouth

  Keith Wood, of Gosforth Academy in Newcastle Upon Tyne

  Jayne Wright, of Brigshaw High School in Allerton Bywater

The 2012/13 Award   winners were:

 Dyfed Bellis, of   Ysgol Gyfun Gwynllyw in Pontypwl

 Christopher Collins, of Tendring Technology College in Essex

 Simon Collings, of Boroughbridge High School in North Yorkshire

 Victoria Ellis, of Swanwick Hall School in Derbyshire

 Miriam Evan, Presdales School in Hertfordshire

 Philip Hickman, of Pool Hayes Arts and Community School in Willenhall

 Andy Hull, of Swakeleys Post-16 Centre in Middlesex

 Tim Johnson, of Redruth School in Cornwall

 Karen Kelly, of Wootten Upper School in Bedford

 Anthony Pagett, of Manshead School in Bedfordshire

 Jo Rodell-Jones, of St Simon Stock Catholic School in Kent

 Jill Smith, of Mildenhall College in Suffolk

The 2011/12 Award   winners were:

 Angela Arden,   Havelock Academy in Lincolnshire

 Vanwy Arif, Wood Green Academy in Sandwell

 Robert Blyth, Dallam School in Cumbria

 Ian Farrell, Wilnescote High School in Staffordshire

 Wendy Frampton, Glenthorne High School in Sutton

 Carol Holmes, Westhoughton High School in Bolton

 Quamar Khan, Saltley School in Birmingham

The 2010/11 Award   winners were:

 Ian Cripps,  Charleston Academy in Inverness

 Martin Davies, Tytherington High School in Macclesfield

 Steven Driver, Queen Alexandra Sixth Form (TyneMet College) in North Shields

 Janet Elias, Maesteg Comprehensive in Maesteg

 Kate Greene, Cardinal Griffin School in Cannock

 Abbas Haghazali, Cox Green School in Maidenhead

 Ceri Anwen James, Ysgol Gyfun Bro Morgannwg in Barry

 Agnieszka Maria Lech, Canterbury College in Canterbury



All were nominated by former students currently in their first year at Oxford.

The award scheme recognises the crucial role teachers and careers advisors play in encouraging talented students in their schools or colleges. Each year, a selection of current first-year Oxford undergraduates are asked to nominate teachers or careers advisors for the award who inspired them to apply to Oxford, fostered their passion for a particular subject or supported them through the application process. The students were all from selected UK state schools or colleges with a limited history and tradition of sending students to Oxford.

The winning teachers are invited to attend an awards ceremony, held at the University of Oxford.

If you have any enquiries regarding this scheme, please contact