Any questions?

The University Year

The academic year at Oxford University runs from October to June. The year is divided into three eight week terms, Michaelmas (autumn), Hilary (spring), and Trinity (summer).

Major events which take place during the academic year include:

  • The Boat Race
  • Varsity Football Match
  • Varsity Rugby Match
  • Encaenia, the ceremony at which the University awards honorary degrees to distinguished men and women and commemorates its benefactors.
  • The Romanes Lecture
  • The Oxford London Lecture is an annual lecture series hosted by the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oxford. Exploring the newest research emerging from Oxford this lecture and panel discussion will consider how research at Oxford impacts on the world in the twenty-first century.
  • Degree days, at which students graduate, take place throughout the year, as do undergraduate open days.