About the University
Oxford poets1

Other poets with connections to Oxford
clockwise from top left: Richard Rive (Magdalen), Myfanwy Piper, who was a librettist of distinction (St Hugh's), G.M. Hopkins (Balliol) and Stephen Spender (Univ)

See more poets connected to Oxford

Professor of Poetry Election

past professors: Matthew Arnold, W.H. Auden, Seamus Heaney and Sir Christopher Ricks

Geoffrey Hill has been elected Professor of Poetry.

He will succeed Sir Christopher Ricks as the new Oxford University Professor of Poetry and is scheduled to be in post for the new academic year in autumn 2010.

Notice of Election of the Professor of Poetry

An election by Convocation was held in Trinity Term 2010 in order to elect a Professor of Poetry, to hold office for five years from the first day of Michaelmas Term 2010.

A meeting of Convocation was held on Friday, 18 June 2010, to announce the results.


Voting has now closed

A meeting of Convocation was held at 4:00 pm on Friday, 18 June 2010, in the Convocation House to announce the election of the Professor of Poetry. Members of Convocation wishing to attend the meeting were asked to note that the wearing of gowns is optional. The candidate elected as the Professor of Poetry will hold office for five years from the first day of Michaelmas Term 2010.

Voter Registration

Registration to vote in the professor of poetry election has now closed.

Members of Convocation who submitted an on-line request to register before noon on Friday, 4 June (BST) received an automatic e-mail asking them to confirm their registration details.  Please note that your request cannot be processed until you have sent a reply to this confirmation e-mail.  As part of the verification process, the details you have provided will be checked to ensure you are a member of Convocation and therefore eligible to vote in this election.  Please allow five working days for verification processing. You will be notified by e-mail if your request has been unsuccessful.

Election timetable

18 Feb
Nominations open
12 AprRegistration opens
5 May
Nominations close
21 May
Voting opens
4 Jun
Registration closes
16 Jun
Voting closes
18 JunResult announced