College governance and timescale | University of Oxford
Radcliffe Science Library, Parks Road, Oxford
Radcliffe Science Library, Parks Road, Oxford
Credit: Bodleian Libraries

College governance and timescale


The plans for Parks College, including the allocation of space, were approved by Congregation on Tuesday 7th May 2019. The official appointment of Professor Lionel Tarassenko as the first President of Parks College was also confirmed on this date.

During the first academic year, 2019-2020, the focus is on setting up the systems, principles and processes to prepare successfully for admitting the first cohort of graduate students in the year 2021. This involves recruiting core staff and fellows, establishing a Governing Body, and developing the academic programme around which College life will be based. We are also actively working on developing partnership and fundraising opportunities to support the long-term vision of the College.

The College will be open for postgraduate student applications from September 2020, with the first cohort of students expected to begin their studies with us in October 2021. We will likely scale up our recruitment from focusing on a reduced intake of postgraduate research students in the first year, and reaching an annual intake of 200 graduate students as soon as possible thereafter, including those studying for research degrees and on taught courses.


The project to establish Parks College is currently overseen by a Programme Board, with regular reporting to University Congregation, Council and other strategic and financial committees at key stages. The Board is chaired by the President of the College, Professor Lionel Tarassenko, and consists of senior members of the University representing all four academic divisions, University administration, Libraries and Museums.

Over the 2019-2020 academic year, we are undergoing a process of recruitment for new staff and fellows, who will comprise the Governing Body, and be responsible for establishing the principles, processes and operations for the College.

Members of the Programme Board:

  1. Professor Lionel Tarassenko, Head of the Department of Engineering Science (chair)
  2. Dr Nigel Berry, Senior Assistant Registrar (Governance), Planning & Council Secretariat
  3. Robert Bough, Solicitor, Legal Services Office
  4. Catriona Cannon, Deputy Librarian, Bodleian Libraries
  5. Chris Carrington, Director of Capital Projects, Estates Services
  6. Liesl Elder, Chief Development Officer, Development Office
  7. Professor Matthew Freeman, Head of the Sir William Dunn School of Pathology (Medical Sciences representative)
  8. Dr Daniel Isaacson, Emeritus Fellow of Wolfson College (Humanities representative)
  9. Professor Jane Langdale, Professor of Plant Development (MPLS representative)
  10. Dr Paul Martin, Associate Head of the Social Sciences Division (Social Science representative)
  11. Professor EJ Milner-Gulland, Tasso Leventis Professor of Biodiversity
  12. Neil Misra, VP Graduates, Oxford Student Union (graduate student representative)
  13. Richard Ovenden, Bodley’s Librarian
  14. Joanna Rhodes, Head of Finance & Administration, Department of Engineering Science
  15. Janet Stott, Deputy Director, Museum of Natural History
  16. Alison Stibbe, Communications & Engagement, Parks College
  17. Professor Anne Trefethen, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for People and Gardens, Libraries & Museums
  18. Stuart Wilkinson, Head of the Knowledge Exchange & Impact Team, Research Services